The first meeting of LUMEN 2019 (Leaders in University Management) Competition Board members  was held on 1st March 2019 in Warsaw, at the headquarters of the Polish Rectors Foundation, which is a Strategic Partner of PCG Academia.

For the members of the Competition Board PCG appointed a group of exceptional and distinguished experts in the field of management, both representatives of higher education and business sectors. The Competition Board is chaired by the President of the Polish Rectors Foundation, Professor Jerzy Woźnicki (names of all members of the Board are presented in the table below). The first meeting was devoted to planning the organization of the Competition and the work of the Board in this year.

This year we are organizing the third edition of the LUMEN Competition, which is a continuation of the Public Consulting Group initiative launched in 2015. The main organizer of the Competition is PCG Academia with the substantive partnership of the Polish Rectors Foundation. The organization of the Competition is one of the key elements of the PCG Academia mission. The main goal of the Competition is to identify and promote the best practices related to professional management in higher education. The competitions are held every two years and accompany the LUMEN Conference of Leaders in University Management, which takes place each year.

During the meeting, the Board members discussed the procedure for substantive evaluation of entries to the Competition. For the award both individual people and entire teams responsible for the projects can be nominated. Applications for the awards can be sent by, amongst others, project implementers, rectors of universities, members of the Competition Board and winners of the LUMEN awards from previous editions of the Competition. Applications will be accepted from 1st May 2019.

The Competition Board will begin further work after the deadline for applications, that is after 10th July. In September, the list of nominees will be announced, and next the winners will be selected by the Board in October. We will announce and honor the winners at the LUMEN 2019 Conference, which will be held in November as always.


We encourage you to check out the list of winners and nominees in the previous edition of the Competition LUMEN 2017 in this brochure.


Members of the LUMEN 2019 Competition Board

Name Organization
1 Prof. Jerzy Woźnicki

(Chairman of the Board)

Polish Rectors Foundation

/ Warsaw University of Technology

2 Professor Wiesław Banyś Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland / University of Silesia in Katowice
3 Professor Ewa Chmielecka Polish Rectors Foundation / SGH Warsaw School of Economics
4 Marek Jakimowicz Vice-President for Pearson Central & Eastern Europe
5 Professor Andrzej Koźmiński Kozminski University in Warsaw
6 Professor Krzysztof Leja Gdańsk University of Technology
7 Professor Józef Lubacz Warsaw University of Technology
8 Professor Bronisław Marciniak Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań
9 Krzysztof Pietraszkiewicz President of Polish Bank Association
10 Professor Grażyna Prawelska-Skrzypek Jagiellonian University
11 Professor Łukasz Sułkowski PCG Academia
12 Professor Tadeusz Więckowski Wrocław University of Science and Technology
13 Beata Galas Blackboard, Account Executive Eastern Europe
14 Cecylia Szymańska Microsoft, Director for the Education Market